FabSwingers.com

FabSwingers.com > Forums > The Lounge > Perform the rep, slow and controlled

Perform the rep, slow and controlled

Jump to: Newest in thread

By *hagTonight OP   Man  over a year ago

From the land of haribos.

Here is another fitness tip that I have and that is that you should slow down on your reps and use proper form, most of the time when I see people train in the gym they are doing the reps far too quickly, you want to go slow, on the way down, the eccentric and fast on the way up the concentric, this will allow you to have a greater time under tension, more mind muscle connection decrease your chance of injury and much more likely to build muscle.

How do you train and do you think about the rep speed? I do that and when you go slow you can feel the muscle fibers really work, it is a great feeling

Reply privately, Reply in forum +quote or View forums list

By (user no longer on site)  over a year ago

When I’m on the weights, I’m a tempo trainer too. Either slow eccentric, pause, explosive concentric…..or vice versa.

By *oeBeansMan  over a year ago

Derby

I've started doing this with my hamstring curls. Noticed I was going through the motions a bit but when I slowed it down, holy crap did I feel it burn!

For lifts I use for strength such as deadlifts, squats, bench, and shoulder press, I mainly just try and focus on moving the weight with good form as opposed to time under tension.

Always slow and controlled on the negative. You have to get the mind muscle connection, then you can make a 20kg dumbbell feel like a 40. Through really isolating a muscle squeezing the muscle and controlling the weight.

"When I’m on the weights, I’m a tempo trainer too. Either slow eccentric, pause, explosive concentric…..or vice versa. "
That is good to mix it up as well, when I am taking the weight down. I make it slow, about 2 to 4 seconds

I stopped training years ago, but when I did, it was the warm up, and cool down that I was advised is important.